Studying abroad at Victoria University of Wellington allows you the opportunity to study at a world-class institution while enjoying the benefits of living in a vibrant, cosmopolitan capital city at the heart of New Zealand. As a study abroad or exchange student, you are a Victoria University of Wellington student, with all the rights and privileges that entails.

Over the past century, Victoria has established a proud international reputation for academic excellence in teaching and research across all of Faculties. The University teaches 21,000 students every year, including over 2,800 international students from 80 countries.

It is a leading research centre in a number of key areas including law, psychology, music, philosophy, literature, geophysics, human geography, logic and computation, biosciences, materials science, management, architecture, politics, international relations and IT.

Academic year

Victoria University of Wellington’s academic year is made up of three trimesters:

  • Trimester 1: February - June   
  • Trimester 2: July - November
  • Trimester 3: November - February (summer trimester)

The academic year begins late February and ends mid November. Students can begin their studies at Victoria in February, July or November. Although these dates differ from the northern hemisphere it is possible to start in Trimester 1 or 2 and not have any overlap with your home university semesters or quarters.

The University's third trimester (November – February) offers a limited range of courses. Some courses run through the trimester, others are taught in six-week blocks before or after the Christmas/ New Year holiday. If you want to avoid a northern winter you can put together an interesting programme, which could include science-related field courses in different parts of New Zealand.


Victoria University has four campuses, three of which are within a 20-minute walk of each other in the city centre; Kelburn, Te Aro and Pipitea. Karori is a 10-minute drive from the city centre.

Kelburn - Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences; Faculty of Science; Faculty of Engineering

Pipitea - Faculty of Commerce and Administration; Faculty of Law

Te Aro - Faculty of Architecture and Design

Karori - Faculty of Education


Faculties and Schools

The Faculties at Victoria include Architecture and Design, Commerce and Administration, Education, Engineering, Humanities and Social Sciences, Law, and Science. All seven offer internationally-recognised undergraduate and postgraduate degrees and doctoral study in a wide variety of subject areas. The most popular study areas for study abroad and exchange students are Humanities and Social Sciences and Science. Victoria ranked in the THES World Top 100 universities for humanities and social sciences in 2008.
Each Faculty offers a wide range of courses ideal for study abroad and exchange students.

University facilities include a main library, cafés, a bank,  book centre, computer shop, newspapers, travel agent, recreation and cultural facilities, and health service. The Students Association helps students in many ways and funds almost 100 social, sporting, cultural and ethnic clubs, which help to make you feel at home in your new learning environment.

Victoria has access to playing fields and facilities that offer the chance to be involved in rugby, soccer, cricket, tennis, squash, netball, and climbing. At the Recreation Centre, open up to 16 hours a day, students can get involved in a wide variety of health and fitness activities, outdoor pursuits, dance classes, and arts and crafts.